LESSON

Restoring Ignition Gateway Backups

Description

Learn how to restore a Gateway Backup of Ignition. Understand the risks of overwriting a Gateway and remember to always make a backup of the existing configuration before restoring.

Video recorded using: Ignition 7.9

Transcript

(open in window)

[00:00] When restoring a gateway back up, there are two ways that it can be done. The most common way is to come into the Configure section, go to the Backup Restore page, go to the Restore tab. It's important to note this warning here, which states that all of the server's current configuration changes will be permanently lost when you do the restore process. So it's a good idea to take a gateway backup of your current settings before you proceed. The only thing that will not be overwritten is your activation status. So if you already have a license activated on this gateway, you don't have to worry when restoring a gateway backup. Because this is a blank gateway, it's not really necessary for me to take a backup. So I'm going to go ahead and choose this gateway backup that I had taken previously. One other thing to note is the Restore Disabled checkbox here. When this is checked, upon restore, all of the configuration settings and projects that get restored, will start disabled. So that when the gateway starts up, nothing will be interacting with any of your devices or database connections right away, until you enable them. I don't necessarily need that, so I'm going to go ahead and restore my gateway backup. The gateway backup requires a restart of Ignition to take effect. Now that the gateway has started up again, we can see that I have my project in there from the backup that I had taken before. The other way to restore a backup is using the Gateway Control Utility. In the Gateway Control Utility, you'll find a link to Gateway Restore, which will restore a gateway backup that you had taken previously. It'll also warn you that all data will be overwritten when you do it. So, go ahead and hit Okay. It'll also ask you to restore a disabled. You can either choose Yes or No. Then you go ahead and choose your backup. One important difference between this way and the way in the Configure section, is that when you do it from the Gateway Control Utility, the gateway doesn't need to be running for you to restore the gateway backup.

You are editing this transcript.

Make any corrections to improve this transcript. We'll review any changes before posting them.

close

Share this video